The Resource The Jane Austen Society, Natalie Jenner

The Jane Austen Society, Natalie Jenner

Label
The Jane Austen Society
Title
The Jane Austen Society
Statement of responsibility
Natalie Jenner
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2020.
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10881829
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Jenner, Natalie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.J448
LC item number
J36 2020
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Austen, Jane
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • England.
Label
The Jane Austen Society, Natalie Jenner
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1112264532
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
309 pages
Isbn
9781250248732
Lccn
2019051879
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1112264532
Label
The Jane Austen Society, Natalie Jenner
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1112264532
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
309 pages
Isbn
9781250248732
Lccn
2019051879
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1112264532

Library Locations

    • Ewing BranchBorrow it
      61 Scotch Road, Ewing, NJ, 08628, US
      40.267841 -74.80462
    • Hickory Corner BranchBorrow it
      138 Hickory Corner Road, East Windsor, NJ, 08520, US
      40.263307 -74.55359
    • Hightstown BranchBorrow it
      114 Franklin Street, Hightstown, NJ, 08520, US
      40.2704786 -74.5220103
    • Hopewell BranchBorrow it
      245 Pennington Titusville Road, Pennington, NJ, 08534, US
      40.3271056 -74.8011122
    • Lawrence BranchBorrow it
      2751 Brunswick Pike, Lawrenceville, NJ, 08648, US
      40.265937 -74.718554
    • Robbinsville BranchBorrow it
      42 Allentown Robbinsville Road, Robbinsville, NJ, 08691, US
      40.2138066 -74.6206761
    • Twin Rivers BranchBorrow it
      276 Abbington Drive, East Windsor, NJ, 08520, US
      40.2665427 -74.4872979
    • West Windsor BranchBorrow it
      333 North Post Road, Princeton Junction, NJ, 08550, US
      40.3058488 -74.6323517